Two top tier sides – WAFA SC and Liberty Professionals failed to progress from the round of 16 of the 2016-17 MTN FA Cup following defeats to Amidaus and Danbort FC respectively.

WAFA lost 1-0 on the road courtesy of Adam Suleman’s 11th-minute strike for the former Premier League campaigners at the Tema Stadium on Sunday.

Liberty Professionals had to fight back through Bernard Arthur to cancel a Sampson Acquah opener and force their game into a penalty shootout after a 1-1 draw in regulation time. They eventually lost the tie 9-8 after the kicks.

Asante Kotoko were unimpressive but did what mattered most by beating Wassaman United 1-0 at the Baba Yara Stadium. Amos Frimpong converted a penalty for the Porcupine Warriors in the 36th minute, handing them a seventh straight quarterfinal berth in the competition.

Cup holders Bechem United were denied a place in the last eight of this year’s competition. The Hunters crushed to a 4-0 defeat to Berekum Chelsea at the Golden City Park courtesy of a brace from Stephen Sarfo while Alfred Okai Quaye and Michael Yeboah scored one each.

Wa All Stars snatched a 2-1 victory away at FC Samartex while giant-killers Nea Salamina accounted for Steadfast FC with two unanswered goals.

Hearts of Oak kicked out Accra Young Wise 1-0 through an own goal by Abdul Rahman Abdullah, while Medeama SC also registered the same score line at home to regional rivals Elmina Sharks.

MTN FA Cup round of 16 results

Asante Kotoko SC 1-0 Wassaman United

Scorer: [Amos Frimpong (pen)]

Young Wise FC 0-1 Hearts of Oak

Scorer: [Abdul Rahman Abdullah (OG)]

Amidaus Professionals 1-0 WAFA SC

Scorer: [Adam Suleman]

Danbort FC 1-1 (9-8 PKs) Liberty Professionals

Scorers: [Sampson Acquah; Bernard Arthur]

Medeama SC 1-0 Elmina Sharks

Scorer: [Joseph Tetteh Zutah]

Berekum Chelsea 4-0 Bechem United

Scorers: [Stephen Sarfo (*2), Alfred Okai Quaye, Michael Yeboah]

Nea Salamina FC 2-0 Steadfast FC

Scorers: [Kwadwo Obeng Junior, Ciderforce Nti]

FC Samartex 1996 1-2 Wa All Stars

Scorers: [Kwaku Aidoo; David Abagna Sandan, Mathew Kelvin Andoh]